Saturday, August 31, 2013

How about a post during the Sat concert?

Ha! So we all arrived here about 715 and the wandered into the concert about 8. We made our way down to our seats, and proceeded to chit chat before the concert started, the couple on one side was from Vancouver BC, and the otherside was from Port Townsend. Our seats were fricking awesome, 2 nd row behind the Pit. Here's a few photos!

 

 

Saturday at the campground!

The concert last night was a lot of fun! Chris' sister Melissa and her husband Ben arrived about 615pm from Portland, and the fancy homebrew in it's own cooler was unpacked and placed in a shady spot next to a tree. I've been told it's quite good, but I can't personally comment since I'm not a big beer drinker. I will take their word for it!

The concert was very enjoyable, we left about 7pm and arrived in the parking area at about 725pm, had a few drinks in the parking lot and made our way inside. Our seats were AMAZING this time, we were in row 20, section 102, dead center. The only disappointment came when the 9 foot tall giant man sat (or stood) in front of me......so most of my concert view was of over his shoulder. I've got a few photos that I will post, but again, they are on my phone which I can't connect to the iPad, so those will have to come later. DMB came onstage about 830, and played until about 11 with a 4 song encore. We then made our way up past all the crazy drunks, and tried to get back out the way we entered.....which for some reason was blocked off? So we followed the crowd and walked around a barrier fence and then trampled another fence and then we were out. We made it back to the campground in 22 minutes from when we turned on the car, which is probably the fastest ever, since parking was such a breeze.

We helped (watched) Ben and Melissa set up their tent, and then headed for bed. What a day!!!!

Today opened bright and early with more bacon (camping food of choice!) and then some cinnamon rolls (mmm, fresh baked!!!) and Ben cooked us all some hash browns, which were crispy and delicious! My mom and Ginger packed it up and left about 10am, headed back for Bellevue and the end of their camping adventures.

I've spent most of the afternoon reading a book and getting caught up on this blog so I can post it when we get to 4G land later this evening.

Chris uploaded his photos to the ipad, so here are a few from last night!

 

 

 

Thursday, August 29, 2013

Day 2, after the fair!

Well, after the torrential downpour, we sat and watched some cowboys rope some calves, and I haven't seen so many white cowboy hats like ever!

We then walked around the fair, then took off for Fred Meyer to pick up some supplies, and now on our way back to the campground. So, until I get out and get another 4G signal, no more posts!

 

Day 2, or when I went to the fair

So, after having a delicious dinner last night, and checking out the show of everyone arriving after dark and attempting to put up tents while holding a flashlight ( trust me, it's hilarious!) we headed for bed.

This morning we got up and had a nice breakfast of cinnamon rolls and bacon, before we headed to Ellensburg to pick up some supplies and check out the Kittitas County Fair!

The fair is pretty small, but there are a lot of people here and it's pretty entertaining!

Some horses, pigs, sheep, cows, chickens and even rabbits!

There is a Frontier Village, with some old buildings set up, you can buy a soda,

Pan for gold

Or just get your picture taken with Dusty the donkey!

Then it looked like rain, so we headed for the rodeo arena to find some dry seats and watched barrel racing.

So here we sit, waiting for the rain to clear, while they level the dirt!

 

Wednesday, August 28, 2013

Day 1 at the campground

So far this has been a great day! We got up about 9:30am, and then wandered outside to set up our camp. Dragged all the chairs, tables, grill, campstove etc out from the storage area in the RV and proceeded to have some breakfast - sausage and waffles for me, sausage and eggs for Chris. It was the very first use of our new camp stove, and it works awesome! it was nice to be frying some sausage right outside under the trees. I've got a couple of photos of the campsite, and the view

And the view -

And what I am working on - poking holes in the photos from last night. Pretty much finished it up, just in time for our lunchtime cocktail hour!!!!

Just so everyone is aware - I am having difficulty posting these at the campground - we do have wireless service but it's only edge speed, vs 3G or 4G, so it keeps erroring out. I'll take the iPad when we do a supply run, because it gets better on top of the hill.

 

Tuesday, August 27, 2013

Looks like we made it!!!

Well, we did finally make it here to the campground last night, it was about 9:30pm. There were several construction sites on highway 97 where it was narrowed to 1 lane with a pilot car guiding everyone through the construction area. Here's a photo of the turnoff right before Toppenish

It got dark pretty quickly after this - couldn't take to many more pictures that would turn out with the iPad, but on the route from Toppenish to Yakima, we hit BUG CENTRAL! It sounded like hail, we hit so many of them. I tried to take a picture, but I'm not sure you can really appreciate how crazy it was.

We finally made it to the campground, and then spent 20 minutes getting the RV into position, and hooked up. Then it was finally time for dinner (hot dogs and corn on the cob!) and some beverages. Here's what the inside of the RV looked like when we got the slide extended out, it's really roomy inside!

I will post some more pictures of the interior tomorrow, once it's light outside it's much easier to see!

While we were eating, we got caught up on the last episode of Deadliest Catch (we missed it somehow, and it was BORING!) and I finished up my photo mounting project before going to bed.

 

On the road!!!

Here's our first moving picture - we are on 99 headed through Tigard for I-5

Traffic was really not too bad, the I-5 and I-84 junction was a little slow, but the really fun time was in the backup around I-205, I'm glad to see they are adding a lane, because it basically backs up to a complete standstill when it's around 4pm. Ugly, but not any huge problems.....

Vista House! we are definitely on our way out to the Gorge!

Once we made it out to I-84 past town, I decided to make some sandwiches - so here they are, at 55 mph!!!

Then some craft projects, also at 55 MPH!!

Then it's time to cross the river - this bridge is always a little scary when it's windy (lucky for us, it wasn't today!!) We're on a bridge, Charlie..!

Up to highway 97, and through the giant wind turbines (no pictures, sorry!) and here we sit, about 20 miles south of Toppenish, waiting for some road construction...... I hope we make it to the campground before 9pm!!!

 

Away we go!

So, it's time to go and get the RV! We arrived around 11:30am, and then did some paperwork in the office

I would highly recommend RV Northwest if you are ever looking to rent one. They are locally owned, and their office is over near Beaverton Toyota (for those that remember, it's right across the street from the old promo warehouse)

 

Our home for the next week! Did our checkout and then drove the monster home! Time to load the vehicle!!!

 

As you saw in the prior posts, most of the stuff was already pulled together in the garage, just awaiting our loading. It took about 2 hours to get everything loaded and put away, which really isn't too bad, so about 3:15pm we were ready to get on the road!!! We checked the traffic reports, and other than a little slowdown at the I-5 & I-84 on ramp, it was looking pretty good, so off we went!!

 

Sunday, August 25, 2013

Everything and the kitchen sink

Well, here I am posting again about packing - you'd think with all the travel I've done, that I would be an expert by now, yet I still hate doing it. And packing for a camping/RV trip is even worse, because you have to take EVERYTHING with you. Paper towels? check. Dish soap? check. Sheets and pillows? check. Giant cooler full of enough food to feed Napoleon's army? check there too!!! We spent most of the day today foraging for supplies at various stores, then came home and emptied the kitchen into boxes to transfer to the RV on Tuesday. This is the one bad thing about renting an RV, you have to bring EVERYTHING that is needed. Or that you think you can't live without. Chris and I always laugh at how much stuff comes home that never got touched, but we still seem to bring a lot of things with us.

That's what we have in the garage right now. The apple boxes are empty, but will get all filled up with something tomorrow I'm sure.....

This is the stuff inside, mostly food. Good thing I've got 3 packages of hot dog buns, you never know when you may run out.......!

The cats are starting to freak out a bit, but mostly just enjoy climbing into the boxes - cat traps you know.

Okay, I'm headed for bed since it's getting kind of late, but I'm sure there will be more packing fun tomorrow!!! Ugh. I haven't even started on my clothes or toiletries yet........

 

Thursday, August 22, 2013

Well, here's the beginning......

Apparently, although I am AWESOME at starting blogs, and AWFUL at finishing them, a lot of my friends still like to read my commentary when I'm on vacation.  So, I will be doing my best to blog while we are on our RV adventure.  There's no internet, and I have no idea if the cell phone signal is strong enough to use with my iPad, but I will do my best to chronicle the crazy times we usually have with this sort of thing.
We will be leaving Portland on Tuesday, August 27 and returning on Monday, Sept 2.   For those that are interested, we will be staying at the Wanapum State Campground, just south of Vantage, WA.
It's actually a pretty cool place to stay, as it's right on the Columbia River, and there is a lot of day use activities with a boat ramp and a beach nearby, so the people watching can be FABULOUS.  Nothing beats watching people scream at one another when they are trying to load their boat on a trailer after a long day of drinking beer on the river......!
Here's a little snip I borrowed from Google Earth to show the aerial view.  The day use beach area is the lower right, and the boat ramp is the grey area at the top.  There are 2 campgrounds, the smaller one along the left is for tent camping, and the loop just below the boat ramp is the main RV campground.  This year, we are in site #12
Which I have conveniently circled in blue, so everyone can visualize where we are staying this year.  We actually booked this campground last December, because this week is so popular for vacations before all the kids go back to school.
Here's what our route will look like, I'm not sure on what planet it only takes 4 hours and 18 minutes, but that's what they claim.  It's usually closer to 5 hours, even when we didn't take the RV (like last year) and especially if anyone is familiar with how Chris drives.  :)
Okay, so that's all for tonight!  I'll log in later and complain about packing like I always do!!!